The Accutane 411

The uncensored journal of an Accutane (Claravis) patient.

Accutane, here I come! May 2, 2010

Filed under: Accutane Blog — theaccutane411 @ 6:30 pm
Tags: , , , ,

The diagnosis

In less than one week, I’ll be 26…and I still have acne. I’ve tried everything from creams to gels to pills, and nothing seems to discourage those pesky breakouts.  About a month ago, I was thinking I’ll probably just have to deal with bad skin for the rest of my life.   And then, my dermatologist suggested Accutane.

At first, I was hesitant.  I mean, my skin isn’t horrible, but I break out on my face, neck, chest, and back.  My smorgasbord of skin issues includes blackheads, white heads, and cystic acne.  If you know anything about cystic acne, you know it hurts like crazy.  Honestly, if I were still in my early 20’s, I’d probably keep trying alternative acne treatments.  But, let’s face it, I’m closer to 30 than I am to 20.  It’s time to have a clear, beautiful complexion.  So bring on the Accutane!

I’ve learned that taking this pill can be risky business.  You are required to have monthly blood tests and pregnancy tests if you are a woman.  If you are sexually active, you are required to use one form of hormonal birth control, and one backup such as condoms or spermicide.  I have an appointment with my gynecologist in two days to talk about birth control.  Last time I was on birth control, I took Yaz and it made me a very cranky lady!  This time, I think I’m going to try the NuvaRing.  I’ll keep you posted on how that works out!

I’ve already registered for iPledge–the government mandated program to prevent pregnancy while taking drugs containing isotretinoin.  According to my iPledge account, I could start treatment as soon as May 7, but since I’m not on birth control yet, I’m guessing it will be a bit longer.

The goal of this blog will be to discuss all aspects of my Accutane treatment.  Just to be clear, I have no connection to Accutane or Roche Laboratories, I’m just a patient documenting my own experience with the drug.  Hopefully this blog will be helpful to others who are on Accutane or thinking about taking Accutane.  Please feel free to comment, share thoughts, products, etc.  I look forward to hearing from you!

 

2 Responses to “Accutane, here I come!”

  1. Ashley Says:

    I’m in Week 3 and it’s not that bad (yet) — mild dryness and a silly itchy scalp are all that are plaguing me. Stay strong and soon you will be able to smile and laugh without being in pain!

  2. Hey Ashley! What products are you using for dryness? Keep me posted on how everything goes for you.


Leave a Reply

